Home > Mapping Across Borders > What is Mapping and GIS anyways? (Videos!)

What is Mapping and GIS anyways? (Videos!)

I’m glad you asked, because I’m not going to tell you! I’ll have others (who are more talented than me, anyways) show you instead! Two videos inside!

The following videos are great introductions to GIS, or Geographic Information System/Science. The first video is produced by Penn State University and it has got to be the highest budget GIS video I’ve ever seen. It is a four part series, with each part lasting about 10-15 minutes. Only two have been released so far, but I’m already pretty impressed already and look forward to the next two installments when they come out.

The second video is made by the University of Girona in Spain. Is is well narrated and feels similar to a Discovery Channel program. It is a lot likeĀ  the first video, but shows different aspects of GIS as well. Another great resource for people that often work in situations where Mapping and GIS are new concepts. Its also fantastic that this video comes in a Spanish version as well.

I found these videos really helped me get re-motivated to keep working on my mapping projects during this end of term crunch. For those studying for exams, it’s great distraction material. Enjoy!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment